8th Symposium on Consumer Psychology of Tourism, Hospitality and Leisure, Istanbul, Turkey, June 2013

After having been hosted in Vienna at MODUL University Vienna in 2009 and Chiang Mai, Thailand in 2011 under the chair of MU Prof. Andreas H. Zins, the 8th Symposium was organized by Prof. Metin Kozak (and Prof. John Crotts and Prof. Andreas H. Zins as co-chairs) in Istanbul, Turkey.

Using a 'boutique style' structure for the symposium, 37 papers from 19 different countries were presented, mainly from Europe, the USA, and Australia.

At the closing dinner event, Arch Woodside was presented the Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the study of consumer psychology in to­­­­­­­­urism and for his leadership in launching both the series of CPTHL Symposia and the International Academy of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research with its International Journal of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research.

For the first time in its history, the authors of the best papers as selected by the symposium were awarded the “Arch G. Woodside Best Paper Award”.

The winners are as follows:

Arch G Woodside Best Paper Award

Steven Pike, “Measuring a Destination’s Branding Impact between 2003 -2012 Using Consumer-Based Brand Equity (CBBE) ­Hierarchy”

Arch G Woodside Silver Award

Brent W. Ritchie, P. Monica Chien and Bernadette Watson, “It Can’t Happen to Me: Travel Risk Perceptions”

Arch G Woodside Bronze Award

Giacomo Del Chiappa, Carlota Lorenzo-Romero and María-del-Carmen Alarcón-del-Amo, “Influence of User Generated Content on Tourists Choices”.

The bi-annual symposium ended with the announcement of the next venue for 2015 – the University of Namur, Belgium, and coordinated by Alain Decrop.