Tourism and Service Management

The department of Tourism and Service Management has a diverse list of cooperations with academic and industry partners and memberships.

Academic Partners

MU is a member of the Austrian Association for Applied Research in Tourism (Österreichische Gesellschaft für Angewandte Tourismuswissenschaft – ÖGAF) and Prof. Karl Wöber is a member of the Board of the Austrian Association for Applied Research in Tourism.

MODUL University hosts BEST EN (Building Excellence for Sustainable Tourism Education Network), an inclusive and collaborative network, focusing on the creation and dissemination of knowledge within the field of sustainable tourism.  Faculty of MU and other international universities collaborate in the creation and dissemination of knowledge within the field of sustainable tourism. Prof. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher chaired the BEST EN for several years with administrative support of Tina. R. Tiller.

MU is a member of EURASIA-PACIFIC UNINET, a network which aims at establishing contacts and scientific partnerships between Austrian universities, universities of applied sciences, other research institutions and member institutions in East Asia, Central Asia, South Asia and the Pacific region, represented by Prof. Andreas Zins.

Several faculty members including Prof. Andreas Zins and Prof. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher are involved in the International Association of Scientific Experts in Tourism (AIEST). Prof. Egon Smeral is chair of the Tourist Research Centre  (TRC) and Prof. Karl Wöber is a member. TRC, which is the academic arm of AIEST, promotes exchange of research experience in tourism and other forms of co-operation among its members. Members work in higher education and in other centers as independent researchers and consultants.

The International Academy of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research serves to nurture scientific advances building on interdisciplinary theory and empirical research across the fields of culture, tourism and hospitality research. The Academy is an open and continually growing body of scholars that includes academic and applied researchers seeking to deepen and broaden understanding, description, accurate forecasts and useful prescriptions of tourism and hospitality behavior within and across cultures. Prof. Andreas Zins has been serving as president from 2008 to 2011. Prof. Josef Mazanec was offered the “Lifetime Achievement Award of the International Academy of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research 2009.

Prof. Karl Wöber, Prof. Egon Smeral, and Prof. Josef Mazanec are fellows of the International Academy for the Study of Tourism. The goal of the Academy is to further the scholarly research and professional investigation of tourism. Fellows of the Academy are elected to membership on the basis of their scholarly achievements and contributions to our understanding of tourism.

Prof. Karl Wöber is a member of the steering committee of TEFI, a global network of tourism academics and industry practitioners who find a common platform in values-based education. The working environments, opportunities, and policy contexts in which network members work are quite varied, but progressing TEFI values in teaching, research and industry engagement is a resonating force that keeps dialogue passionate and optimistic.

Travel & Tourism Research Association (ttra)

Prof. Karl Wöber and Prof. Andreas Zins are members of the Travel and Tourism Research Association (ttra) is a non-profit association whose purpose is to enhance the quality, value, effectiveness and use of research in travel marketing, planning and development.

Prof. Karl Wöber is a member of the Scientific Tourism Advisory Board to the Minister of Science and Economics, who is responsible for tourism development in Austria.

MODUL University Vienna is Austria’s exclusive partner university for the World Tourism Forum Lucerne a global platform for leaders and the next generation, dedicated to sharing a vision of a sustainable future for tourism, travel and hospitality. Prof. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher is coordinating the Young Talent Programme and inviting the best students from partner universities to participate.

MODUL University is an affiliate member of the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO). UNWTO is the United Nations agency responsible for the promotion of responsible, sustainable and universally accessible tourism. UNWTO’s membership includes 156 countries, 6 Associate Members and over 400 Affiliate Members representing the private sector, educational institutions, tourism associations and local tourism authorities.  In addition, all tourism study programs at MU are UNWTO TedQual certified. Contact: Prof. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher

Deutsche Gesellschaft fur Tourismuswissenschaft (DGT)                                                                                                                 
Members: Prof. Lund-Durlacher and Prof. Karl Wöber

International Centre for Responsible Tourism (ICTR)                                     
Members: Prof. Lund-Durlacher

The international Council on Hotel, Restaurant, and Institutional Education (CHRIE)

Members: Dr. Florian Aubke

International Institute of forecasters (IIF)  
Members: Dr. Ulrich Gunter, Dr. Irem Önder, Prof. Egon Smeral

The international Ecotourism Society (TIES)      
Members: Prof. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher

International Society of Travel and Tourism Educators (ISTTE)
Members: Prof. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher

International Association Tourism Economics (IATE)
Members: Dr. Irem Önder, Prof. Egon Smeral

Industry Partners

European Cities Marketing (ECM)  and MODUL University cooperate in various fields. The tourism and service management faculty, Dr. Irem Önder and Prof. Karl Wöber in particular, are involved in providing technical advice for research projects undertaken by ECM.

The European Travel Commission (ETC) and MODUL University cooperate in market research projects like the compilation of national tourism statistics on TourMIS.

Futouris is a network of international companies from the tourism industry which are committed to “the improvement of living conditions, the preservation of biological diversity and environmental and climate protection”. The members develop new project ideas in collaboration with a worldwide network of specialists and local organisations. Prof. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher is a member of the international Scientific Advisory Committee which is in charge of accrediting the sustainability projects of the Futouris members.

Dr. Florian Aubke is a member of the Hospitality Asset Managers Association (HAMA), a pre-eminent organization of professionals responsible for proactively increasing asset values on behalf of hotel owners worldwide. HAMA is a networking organization of approximately 200 professionals representing an estimated 3,200 hotels with over 760,000 rooms. 

TourCert is a private, non-governmental and not-for-profit organization for certification in tourism which awards the ‘CSR-TOURISM’ (Corporate Social Responsibility) label to tourism companies. Prof. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher chairs the independent TourCert Certification Council which is comprised of experts from different sectors of society. Its members work on an interdisciplinary and voluntary basis and decide on the guidelines and criteria of the certification system.